On Rick Warren’s Loss

I am not a fan of Rick Warren. His book is not on my favorite list. I still got my copy somewhere. It’s not one I would recommend. Yet, with all that said I was saddened to hear of his loss.

A note sent out said:

The 27-year-old son of Pastor Rick Warren has taken his own life after a lifelong struggle with mental illness. The internationally known Christian leader at Saddleback Church in Lake Forest, California, made the announcement about his son early Saturday morning in an email sent to his staff.

“No words can express the anguished grief we feel right now. Our youngest son, Matthew, age 27, and a lifelong member of Saddleback, died today,” wrote Warren.

Some so called Christians have posted awful things about Warren and his loss. I was shocked and disgusted by this. I won’t repeat them. They don’t deserve repeating. Anyone who isn’t revolted by the words of people who claim to be of Jesus not showing the love of God to their own has problems. You do not have to like Warren to show him love and support in his time of loss. I send him love and prayers.

I shouldn’t have to write this to remind some out there that when someone Christian or not suffers a great loss that love and kindness are the only proper response. Warren isn’t the first victim of bad Christian behavior—both Rob Bell and I have suffered from slurs and accusations flung without a care. Names may not kill, but they do hurt especially when they come from our brothers and sisters in Christ.

We, Christians need to heed the advice of The Dalai Lama (yes, I just said that), “Our prime purpose in this life is to help others. And if you can’t help them, at least don’t hurt them. Love, compassion and forgiveness is important and they should be part of our daily lives.”

Leave a Reply

