Love Is Always The Answer

With my bible study group, I have been looking at the book of Esther. The only book in the bible that doesn’t mention God, yet it seems that God is present nonetheless. Much like in our lives, we cannot see or touch God in a physical sense, yet God is very much present and with us as we live our lives. God is as present as we choose to live with God in glorifying ways. As we respond to God, God grasps us. As God grasps us, we begin to know and experience God.

Some argue that the sixth is implausible because it is crammed with too many coincidences. Others argue what we are seeing is God’s sovereignty working through people’s character. It has been my personal experience that when we think that life is over that our good days are behind us that no one cares we are surprised by how good and beautiful life is. When we least expect it, we see God at work. Behind every surprising turn of events, God is busy at work.

Hearts broken, death, jobs lost, dead ends hit, and rocky relationships happen every day. We all face darkness each day, whether self-created or other-inflicted we have all faced bad things and maybe worse things are looming on the horizon. Last year, I suffered many mishaps and health issues and I wanted this year to be different and the first Wednesday of the year I was struck with what looked like a heart attack but wasn’t not sure what it was. I am facing health problems. I will overcome them. Yes, I will. But it won’t be all on my own. I can do things to improve my situation, the rest I will have to surrender to God.

A few years ago, I suffered a bad break-up. It was awful. I had a crisis of faith at the time. Why me! Just thinking about it, I am reminded of how lost, hurt, and troubled I was. I had never loved or shared as much as I did with her. I thought she was special. That she reciprocated my feelings. We had many good times. I missed her fiercely. It took me awhile to get over my hurt and to not miss her and not feel badly for her. We both did wrong by each other. That’s how it is with relationships, it’s a part of life, and all the great love songs and poems and films have been written by people who were standing where I was doesn’t make it any easier though. (Jane Green) I now am ready to sing a new love wrong to make poetry with someone new. I am a romantic. I believe in grand romantic gestures. I know out there somewhere is my soul mate. The one I am destined to be with.

Everything is determined, the beginning as well as the end, by forces over which we have no control. It is determined for the insect, as well as for the star. Human beings, vegetables, or cosmic dust, we all dance to a mysterious tune, intoned in the distance by an invisible piper. (Albert Einstein) I believe every person who comes into our life and every event that happens is meant to happen to guide us where we need to get to and become who we are meant to be. I have always believed, and I still believe, that whatever good or bad fortune may come our way we can always give it meaning and transform it into something of value. (Hermann Hesse)

The book of Esther could serve as a character study (where god is using ‘who people already are’ to accomplish His purposes). God doesn’t change who we are but uses who we are to do his will. God is not about changing us into who we are not but transforming us into our best self. My overarching character is as one who encourages dialogue and understanding for solving conflicts showing a way forward. I am optimistic, willing to work for a good cause and inspire others to the same. I am intelligent and eager to share my knowledge and findings with others; I remain open to absorbing everything in my environment. I am always exploring, examining, and reflecting on faith, life, and other things I encounter during my daily travels.

I have you seen God use my skills and interests through my blog, the class I taught at church, the bible studies I have participated in, and my daily adventures. I don’t think God only uses us in grand, epic, life-shattering ways, but since God is always in the service of the now, He uses our life and our situations for His purposes. It’s about doing something big, but living the kind of life that reflects the Kingdom and compels people to wonder how and why we do what we do.

Bad things happen; we are faced with horrors and are not asked to change them but to face them with humility and compassion. Sometimes, we will work to make life better, but mostly we asked to not hide or cower away, we are invited to live fully from who we are towards who we were always meant to be. We don’t do this alone. We are not alone. We are to be in community and fellowship with others and to invite others into community and fellowship. Love is the center of the universe, love always has the final word and so we are to love radically and wastefully. Giving away love, we will find that we have more and more to give away. Life is a miracle. The miracle is not to walk on water or change water to wine, but to be as loving in each moment that we can.

Love is always the answer.

Leave a Reply

