My Christmas Wish List (2012)

When I was a kid, I would make intricate lists of all things I wanted for Christmas. My Christmas list was a work of art. Listing all the things I figured would make me happy. The toys, books, treasures, and objects that would make me complete. I would imagine ripping and tearing open the packages of pretty paper and ribbon, encountering the things on my list. Stacking up all the treasures and basking in the glow of my swag. How very happy I would be at getting all the things on my list.

Yippee!

I usually didn’t get all the things on my list, maybe one or two at the most. I was happy with what I got and appreciative of what was given to me. At the time, I thought it came from Santa Claus, which is a nice myth for a child to believe in, but now knowing that those gifts were given by parents who didn’t have a load of money means more. I treasure my memories of those early morning treasure hunting and all the laughter and gasps that were part of it.

I would get clothes, especially socks—why do parents always give socks, as if that was what we wanted to unwrap in the early hours of Christmas morning. Let me clue you parents in don’t give your children clothes, especially socks unless they specifically ask for such items. You can buy them, but give them in some other way than as a present under a green tree.

My favorite Christmas memory is when my older brother dressed up as Santa Claus and delivered presents to us. It was awesome! It means more now, since he passed away a few years ago. I like to remember him that way as joyous, loving, and giving. That was probably the best Christmas for me so far. Love and joy uniting my family like never before, I don’t remember the gifts I got, but I do remember my brother and what a great day my family shared together.

There’s a song called Grown-up Christmas List, I like the version sung by Amy Grant the most. Here are a few lyrics.

My lifelong wish. My grown-up Christmas list. Not for myself, but for a world in need. No more lives torn apart, that wars would never start, (and wars would never start) and time would heal all hearts. And everyone would have a friend, and right would always win, and love would never end. This is my grown-up Christmas list. No more lives torn apart, that wars would never start, and time would heal all hearts. and everyone would have a friend, and right would always win, and love would never end. This is my grown-up Christmas list.

I like listening to that song, always have, but over the last few years, it has more meaning. I have had unexpected changes, both good and bad. I have been challenged and grown in new ways. Sometimes surprising me, but I always try to go deep and push myself. When I am unable or unwilling to push myself, I have people in my life that will push me in ways I am resisting. Such as the men in my bible study group. I use this blog as a way of thinking and expressing my faith journey. I have further to go and grow, but I find that I am more willing and capable of leading the kind of life I want and being the kind of person I know I ought to be and I want to be. It feels that I am on the cusp of a great adventure. This next year will be awesome. I may not get all the things I want in the coming years, but I will move closer and closer to them and being the kind of person who can and will handle those wonderful things. My goal in a broad sense is to have a wonderful life.

So, what is my Christmas wish list?

Here it is. I may expand on each of these in an upcoming post.

1. A deeper, transformative relationship with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ

 “I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage that I may gain Christ.”  (Philippians 3)

2. Attend school in Iowa

Nelson Mandela: “A good head and good heart are always a formidable combination. But when you add to that a literate tongue or pen, then you have something very special.”

 3. Meet more people make friends with all

George Eliot: “What do we live for, if it is not to make life less difficult for each other?”

4. Meet the love of my life… or at least get a girlfriend

Dr. Seuss: “You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.”

5. Explore new areas and experience all life has to offer

Ralph Waldo Emerson: “Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.”

In the final analysis, I don’t want or need Christmas gifts not the ones that go under the tree with pretty paper, ribbon, and bow. I believe if more would say no presents this year and spend the time and money to make this Christmas matter to take the message of Christmas serious, we may just change the world and each day can be Christmas day. I want to take the message of Christmas serious to make this Christmas more meaningful than ever before. That’s one reason I am writing these reflections on this season. However, if you insist on getting me a gift than you get me a gift card to Barnes and Noble or even better take me to lunch or movie.

Yes, I wait with breathless anticipation for the coming again of Jesus for the inbreaking of God’s here on earth as it is in Heaven. I pray that this Christmas season will bring light, truth, hope, peace, love, and joy to all and all will see the free gift of life to the full offered in Christ Jesus.

I will leave you with the words of Bill Murray from the modern re-telling of a Christmas Carol Scrooged.

It’s the one night when we all act a little nicer. We smile a little easier. We share a little more. For a couple of hours we are the people we always hoped we would be. It’s really a miracle because it happens every Christmas Eve. And, if you waste that miracle, you’re gonna burn for it. I know. You have to do something. You have to take a chance and get involved. There are people that don’t have enough to eat and who are cold. You can go and greet these people. Take an old blanket out to them or make a sandwich and say, “Here”

 “I get it now.”

And, if you give, then it can happen, the miracle can happen to you. Not just the poor and hungry, Everybody’s gotta have this miracle! It can happen tonight for you all! If you believe in this pure thing, the miracle will happen and you’ll want it again tomorrow! You won’t say, “Christmas is once a year and it’s a fraud.” It’s not! It can happen every day! You’ve just got to want that feeling! You’ll want it every day! It can happen to you! I believe in it now. I believe it’s gonna happen to me, now. I’m ready for it! And it’s great. It’s a good feeling. It’s better than I’ve felt in a long time. I’m ready.

 Have a Merry Christmas. Everybody.

2 Comments

  1. Mary Anne

    I love this article and as a child with 8 siblings, Christmas’s were not filled with lots of extravagant gifts. I can relate to the gift of socks, or an unwanted robe…something Mom thought practical and you truly needed. I didn’t even own a bike until I was in my 30s and a neighbor gave it to me. There was always an abundance of love and a fresh Christmas tree, most importantly the meaning of the Holiday was always foremost. We were raised by a loving Christian woman who taught all of us that God, would have sacrificed his son for each one of us no matter what! Over the years I loss 3 of my brothers at fairly young ages and my mother also passed, Christmas still reminds me of the unwanted robe or socks I was given as a child but I’m grateful that I was raised in a poor home that taught me to be grateful for everything I have ever had and to work hard for it too, If someone gave me thousands of dollars I would still shop at thrift stores and be wise with my money. It’s imbedded in me. I thought I was so poor when I was young but I had a bed to sleep in and food to eat, it taught me to be a giver and to be independent at an early age. My only Christmas wish this year is for my daughter to have a reliable used car, to get her 4 children to school and their sport actives in without breaking down. I don’t need anything not even a robe or socks lol. So I will stand in prayer and agreement that my Savior will provide this Christmas wish. Merry Christmas and God bless us all

    • Thank you for your kind words. It is a valuable lesson and treasure “to be grateful for everything I have ever had and to work hard for it too.” I will pray that you get your Christmas wish and that God’s light, hope, peace, love, and joy shine into your life this Christmas season and into the New Year.
      God bless you!

Leave a Reply

