I Am The 47 (A Rant)

This is a rant with strong language.

Ok. Here I go. I am sure you have heard Romney’s remarks about 47% of America being moocher deadbeats. Not only is this disgusting inflammatory speech, but an odious lie that some conservatives are trying to portray as the truth. I know a few good conservatives; I should be shocked if they were to say anything like this. They are honest, loving, kind people. Yet, an element in the conservative party is self-centered, rude, pedantic, narcissistic, exclusivist, pharisaic, brash jackasses.

I was not all that shocked by Romney’s comment. As a former Mormon, I myself have witnessed and experienced firsthand how pedantic, narcissistic, exclusivist, pharisaic Mormons can be and are. I have known and do know some Mormons who do not fit this category, though. So, for me in ways this is personal. My autistic brother has been shunned and ridiculed by Mormons. My Mom who had a child out of marriage has been treated as a leper. She has been confined to a wheel chair for the last few years; I count on one had how many times someone has visited her. As I child I was treated as a reject.

Yes, this is personal and I am still angry about this. I know I need to work on this and I am.

What is surprising is that Romney’s comment was captured on camera. While some republicans have denounced and distanced themselves from him, others have backed him twisting it to mean something else. They are scum for thinking that half of America are deadbeats.

Some of the 47 are elderly men and women who have worked their whole life paying into the system. Others are hard working men and women who don’t make all that much trying to raise and care for their families. Others are disabled men and women in need. Others are students, like myself who are trying to make something of themselves.

I am not a deadbeat!

I am enrolled in school fulltime and working a very part-time job. I would like to have a better job with more hours and pay. I am still looking, but have resigned myself that I might not have a fulltime job until I graduate. I don’t have health insurance even though I need it. I am a diabetic and if I didn’t qualify for a prescription program, I would not have the insulin I need. I applied for food stamps. I was told I don’t qualify because I go to school fulltime. If it wasn’t for the help my patents, who are on limited income I would be homeless. I don’t want a handout. I want and I am very thankful for all the help I do get.

So, Romney and all you stinking Romney cronies before you go blabbing about how America is full or half-full of deadbeat moochers you might want to think about who you are calling that. You might want to take moment and wonder who you are calling what before you let your mouth write a check you cannot cash.

They say that America is a Christian nation yet they do not live or legislate with Christian ethics. They are more followers of Ayn Rand than they are followers of Jesus Christ.

Jesus did not say, “47% of you are sick, lazy, or unemployed. Your dependent and you think you are victims. You think I have the responsibility to care for you. You think you are entitled to health care, to food, and to housing. It is not my job to worry about you. Take some personal responsibility.”

If Jesus had actually said this we would all be up that creek without that paddle. He did not! Jesus does not put limitations on His Awesome love and grace. They are free and offered to all! We don’t make ourselves worthy and blameless. It is all grace. Grace the free gift offered in and through the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus is for ALL not just a few.

Jesus did say,”Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. It is not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick. Go and learn what this means: ‘I desire mercy, not sacrifice.’ For I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners. It is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for someone who is rich to enter the kingdom of God.”

I am the 47 and I will be voting for Obama.

What I just wrote might upset some and cause me some followers, so be it. I have felt the rude hand of pedantic, narcissistic, exclusivist, pharisaic, brash jackasses. I hope that America will be saved from a Romney presidency. If any good can come from His 47% comment it that America sees that Romney is the worst possible choice for president.

I am done. Enough said. Have a good day.

2 Comments

  1. Robbie, this is one of the most intelligent political rants I have read. My hat’s off to you. One blogger to another you really nailed it.

    • Thank you, Gerald. That means a lot coming from you.

Leave a Reply

