Why I Want To Be Pastor?

Tuesday Night, I go in front of the leaders of my church and submit myself for the first step in the ordination process. I would like to reflect on the reasons I am doing this.

I feel called. You might even say led.

I believe that everything that has happened to me—the good and bad happened to place where I can honestly say that I feel called into ministry. I want to be of service to others. I enjoy reading and studying the bible and sharing my findings with others. This reading, studying, and sharing is important. It is not something to take lightly or to do without deep thought. There is an urgency all this. There is urgency to my call to becoming all that I can be in Christ.

Once, I wanted to be a novelist to read and write good books. To hide out and do my thing, not worrying about the rest of the world. I could write all day, read my books, and go to movies not worrying about all the crap that is going on in the world. I could write and read while the world burned around me. Yet, I don’t feel that way anymore. I want to make a stand. To say it quickly life happened. I awoke to the world and all the things that are wrong. I got my heart broke. I became a Christian. Now, even though I still read and may write a novel someday I want more. I want to love and serve my fellow man.

I want to be of help. I want to stand for what is right, beautiful, and good. I want to do something to make the world a better place. I want to apply my reading and studying to my life, help and guide others to Jesus and live life fully. I know that writing is going to be a big part of learning and living this call to ministry, but there is more. This more I want to learn through and in the process of becoming pastor.

So, why do I want to be a pastor?

I want to spend my life reading, studying, and sharing the bible with others. I want to learn what it means to really follow Jesus and help others do the same. I want to help others, to make this world better, and to right wrongs. I want to be a pastor, because I think this is the best vocation that can and will incorporate all my interests, hopes, and skills while helping me to grow personally, spiritually and help others do the same.

That is why I want to be a pastor.

Grace and Peace

Leave a Reply

