Can Christianity Survive?

On Facebook Anne Rice asked, “My question today: do you think Christianity can survive and evolve if it stops persecuting, stops projecting its concept of “evil” and “Satan” on others — such as gays, or worshippers in other religions, or sexually liberated women? Can Christianity exist without scapegoats?”

I do. I am hopeful. Yet, it is the only way forward. We loved because God first loved us. We were enemies and God loved us and sent his Son to show us the way forward the way to be human to die for us to dies for our sins. No sin is any greater than any other and all have fallen short. If there is a sin greater than the rest, that sin is not loving our neighbor fellow traveler. As Christians, we believe that Jesus is the living, flesh and blood embodiment of justice, love, grace, hope, joy, and peace. We as Jesus followers’ are called to spread and increase these very values in the world in the here-and-now.

I do not believe that being gay is wrong or sinful. I believe that the LGBT person is as able as I am to follower Jesus or not. They are as able as I am to sin and fall low. I am to love them no matter what.

I admire Buddhists and I have quoted them. I read Buddhist books. I am intrigued by Islam and would like to study the Koran not that I would convert, I am a Christian but I am interested in it. I read Sufi poet Rumi. I also have studied Kabbalah and Judaism and have quoted Rabbi’s. I read the Tao Te Ching. I do have a problem with Mormonism, something I need to work on. I wouldn’t call it evil, I would call it wrong not for me.

I do not have a problem with women. Some of the best people I have ever known have been strong women. Women are awesome, special, powerful, and wonderful and should be treated as such. They have a mind and should use it to decide what is best for them. They too are created in the image of God and they should bear that image as well as they can.

If Christianity cannot exist without a scapegoat than it is not God’s truth and light.

Greg Boyd twittered, “The meaning of a word is the significance it evokes. The current meaning of “Christian” in America is no longer something I identify with.”

I agree with Mr. Boyd. There is something very wrong with the current usage of the word Christian. If what it means to be a Christian is that we are more concerned with gay marriage, converting everyone to think ‘Christian’, and contraceptives than with world hunger, loving our neighbor, and being Jesus to the world than I am not a Christian either. If, on the other hand a Christian loves and serves the least, includes the excluded, and spreads/increases love, grace, hope, joy, and peace that I am emphatically and unapologetically Christian.

How would you answer Anne Rice?

How did you react to Greg Boyd?

2 Comments

  1. While reading this post, I immediately thought of Matthew 7: 23 And then I will declare to them, “I never knew you; depart from Me…” I have a feeling that quite a few people who have the label “Christian” will be hearing that, and that’s really sad to me. In my own posts, I find myself using the word “Christian” less and less and using “believer” more and more. Thanks for sharing this with us.

    • Thank you for reading and commenting.

Leave a Reply

