God Not In Our Image

This past Sunday, my pastor led the first of four classes on the Trinity. He titled it Our Triune God: A Mysterious God Not In Our Image. As I have said previously, I have a problem with the Trinity yet I am open to learning more about it and trying to accept it. I think I need somehow to find a way to incorporate it into my daily walk with God to see how it affects my daily faith journey. How it can deepen my faith and add depth to my relationship with God. If it remains merely a doctrine, an intellectual proposition I will likely never really accept it, but if somehow it becomes a vibrant illustration of faith and life in and with God than I will not just accept it but proclaim it in word and deed.

I am not all that concerned with being orthodox. Orthodoxy doesn’t interest me all that much.

I am concerned and desiring of a closer and deeper relationship with God.  My relationship with God is important, maybe the most important thing in my life.

The Trinity may be the way to a closer and deeper relationship with God. If it is, I want to embrace it fully.

Or, not. At this time, I cannot say either way. I am open, but skeptical about this whole business with the Trinity.

The Two truths my pastor used to discuss the Trinity in this first class were:

1) God is complete and does not “need” us BUT it is in God’s nature to want us.

2) God is mysterious. It is good to feel insignificant compared to God. God is knowable but we should not make him containable.

My pastor listed all the ways people have tried to use to describe the Trinity. The two that made the most sense to me were water (liquid, steam, ice) and person (mind, heart, soul). There were quite a few and I am sure there are even more. Some were cute, others not so useful yet in the end it comes to the same. No human words can ever describe the fullness of God. Human words and concepts can hint or point towards God, but not capture God. Human words are incapable of explaining ultimate reality. God is beyond words and can in the end only be experienced in the moment.

It may be that we must accept that God will remain a mystery to us. We can begin to know God, but God will largely remain a mystery.

As Rainer Maria Rilke writes in Letters to a Young Poet, “…have patience with everything unresolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves as if they were locked rooms or books written in a very foreign language. Don’t search for the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps then, someday far in the future, you will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the answer.”

I trust that if somehow someway the Trinity becomes a compelling reality that I can live in the mystery, but as long as it remains a church doctrine than my problem with will continue. The trinity may indeed be one of those mysteries that you must gradually live your way into the answer. Once I rejected the Trinity outright now I am open to it and the more I learn the more open to it I am. I am never embrace it as some do, but I can and will follow Jesus and align my life with God in spite of accepting or not accepting the Trinity.

I am taking the first steps in embracing the Trinity. It is a part of my journey.

Leave a Reply

