My Thoughts on Healthcare

I have made it no secret that I am a liberal and I support Mr. Obama. Come November I will be voting for him once again. I pray that he will be given four more years as our leader. I have avoided speaking politics on this blog, though I have from time to time spoken my mind on such issues. This will be one of those blogs. I wanted to say a few words about healthcare. This is personal not some abstract ideological debate for me and for millions like myself.

I am diabetic. I have struggled with getting the medicine that I need. At the moment, I do have ways of getting it, thankfully. Yet, there have been times that I have had to do without, due to having no job and no medical insurance. I have a job now, but remain without medical insurance. I work part-time as a cashier in a retail chain store. I have looked and continue to look for a full-time job with benefits. I am going to school, getting my bachelors and hope to go to seminary for my masters. I and many, many like me need health insurance. It is not a luxury we could do without. Its a reality we are faced with each and every day.  

The only comment I have for you who are yelling and kicking up a storm over Obamacare is maybe before you start throwing a fit you should consider those of us who don’t have access to the healthcare that you do, maybe you should wonder about us who would benefit from the passage and implementation of this bill. Maybe you should consider showing some of the humility and love that Jesus did and calls each of us to show to others. 

Matthew’s gospel is quite clear when in the 25th chapter.

I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me,I was sick and you looked after me,I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.

Jesus has called each of us to care, love, feed, and clothe the least of his brothers and sisters. The moment we stop loving and caring for our needy brothers and sisters is the very moment we step out of the embrace of our loving Father. To be a Christian should be marked by what the 25th chapter of Matthew calls us to.

Timothy Keller in his excellent book Generous Justice (my favorite of his books) writes, ” This is the kind of community that Jesus said his true disciples would establish. Believers should be opening their homes and purses to each other, drawing even the poorest and most foreign into their homes and community, giving financial aid, medical treatment, shelter, advocacy, active love, support, and friendship.”

I don’t always agree with what Timothy Keller says and writes, but I do believe he is right as Jesus-followers we should be drawing in the least of our brothers and sisters and caring for them, making them our friends and offering them life to the full in Christ. What I see in this debate and the election this year so far is removed from what Christians should be showing to the world that it sickens me. I have ranted about how certain elements in the  Church is making it hard for me to call myself a Christian. This is just more of that. I will always follow Jesus, He is my Lord and savior and I want to share what I have found and continue to find in him with others. I hope and pray that my struggles will make me a more loving, compassionate, God-gloryfying, Christ-centered, humble human being and when I am able to offer financial aid, medical treatment, shelter to others that I will. I can now and I do try to offer advocacy, active love, support, and friendship to those who need it.

My prayer for myself, my readers, and others is that we live our faith by grace showing the world that true Christian faith is found in love and friendship with all regardless of who they are. We love because we were first loved. Jesus showed us in His life, death, and resurrection how to live and its about time we start doing it.

 Gregory Boyd wrote on Facebook: It’s about our (followers of Jesus) stance toward the State. As foreigners in this oppressed land, why should we get bent out of shape about what the kingdom of this land does with the money (which we don’t care about) it collects from us — but especially when it is used for anything that is intended to help people? I can’t imagine Jesus or Paul or any NT Christians screaming in anger because government is going to make them subsidize other people’s insurance. Can you?

Leave a Reply

