At Church Week 5

My class is over!

I was both sad and relieved by this. I was able to share my love of the St. Francis Prayer, what I have discovered through this prayer, and how it has helped me connect with God on a deep level. This prayer has been a big part in my seeking God and finding the Gospel of grace.

I have written here on this prayer and I am preparing to write a book on this prayer.

The last class was on Eternal life. My pastor helped pick a Gospel of John verse that talks about this topic.

Then came the Festival of Dedication at Jerusalem. It was winter, and Jesus was in the temple courts walking in Solomon’s Colonnade. The Jews who were there gathered around him, saying, “How long will you keep us in suspense? If you are the Messiah, tell us plainly.”

Jesus answered, “I did tell you,   but you do not believe. The works I do in my Father’s name testify about me, but you do not believe because you are not my sheep. My sheep listen to my voice; I know them,   and they follow me. I give them eternal life,   and they shall never perish;   no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me,   is greater than all[b];   no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. 30 I and the Father are one.” (John 10:22-30)

This bible verse says that the true people of Jesus are those who listen to Jesus, are getting to know Jesus experientially, starting to follow/walk with Jesus, who are receiving deep, lasting life from Jesus, given special assurance, and are forever safe in the grip of Jesus. Jesus is central to our life now and in the future. To be a true person of Jesus means knowing, affirming, and forming our life on the gospel of Jesus. Jesus came to give us life and life in the full.

Eternal life is life lived with God. God is where each of us are in the present, the here-and-now. I believe these life matters. What we do now matters, what happens to us now matters. This life and the next is one seamless reality graced, blessed, and saved by God.

There are two kinds of death. The first is the death to our old self, the death to our old ways and our birth to our new self in Christ. The second death is the death of our physical death, our transition from this world to the next.

I talked about both in my class and Paul’s idea of daily dying to self. I read Colossians 3:1-17, which is titled ‘Living as Those Made Alive in Christ’.

We had a good talk about what it means to live now with one eye on the next world and another on this world. If Heaven is assured and as followers of Jesus it is, we should live as Jesus would have us live. I think if we shape our life by the love God has for us and try to live this prayer out than we are living, as Jesus wants his followers to live here-and-now.

I have considered teaching another class. I have a few ideas about what it might be about, but I am also happy that at the moment I don’t have to worry about preparing a lesson plan for a class. If or when I do lead another study, I am sure I will post my thoughts about it. I hope my reflections on this class and this prayer have helped you in your walk with Jesus.

Leave a Reply

