I believe In The Resurrection

This is something I need to answer for myself as well as my readers. If this helps good, if not you can dismiss it. After all, I am merely another believer in Jesus Christ. My hope is to express my genuine belief that the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ is what saves and makes us right with God.

I am a social liberal. I know that extreme liberals deny or at the very least deemphasize the crucifixion and resurrection. I do not. They want to promote Jesus’ life as most important. They call the crucifixion gruesome and the resurrection supernatural. So be it. They are free to say that. I do not. I agree with them on many other issues, just not this one. As I said above and have said in my previous posts, we are saved, made right by Jesus’ life, death, and resurrection. We need all three. Over emphasizing any one of the three is wrong.

I am an Evangelical Protestant. I could say that I was brought kicking and screaming into Evangelical Protestantism from Universalist pseudo-Christianity. I am new to this and still trying to work out all the theology and what it means to me personally. I hope that documenting my journey online will help not only myself, but also those who are willing to read and engage my writings. Writing for me is the best way to think through and articulate my thoughts and feelings on faith, life, and everything.

Christianity is about something that happened; something that happened to and through Jesus. Christian faith is centered on the cross. What led up to the cross, the event of the cross and repercussions of the cross throughout history is the story of Christian faith. The Christian faith is not about another moral teaching or some new religion or a book, object, or place. No! The Christian faith is all about one man, how he changed the world through his life, death, and resurrection. Our faith is about Jesus, what he did on the old rugged cross. Our cry is the tomb is empty, He is risen.

I believe in Jesus Christ, in the resurrection, and life everlasting.

One blogger writes, “The resurrection of Christ is foundational to early Christianity. If it were not for the belief in the resurrection of Christ by his followers, then Christianity would have never arisen to the heights that it did, and Jesus would have merely been relegated to a footnote in history. In the cross, Christ is an innocent person being executed, a man abandoned by his friends and utterly forsaken by God. The resurrection is God’s response. It instills hope for the future. The resurrection of Christ was not an arbitrary display of how powerful God can be; it was the inauguration of God’s kingdom, bringing with it a great hope for the future of this world and for those who cry out from the ground for justice.” http://diglotting.com/2012/04/04/why-i-believe-in-the-resurrection/

Now, my reasons. If I say that Adam and Eve is myth, and I would even state that, other parts of the bible are mythic how can I still say the resurrection is a true event in history.

I try to read the bible seriously not literally, contextually, and through the lenses of Jesus’ teaching, church tradition, my personal experience and learning. I may be wrong about some things. I know that I do not have all the answers. I will spend my life studying and deepening my love and knowledge of the bible. Through my study, prayer, and contemplation I know that Jesus did and said everything that the bible says he said and did. That the crucifixion and resurrection are events in history. I believe that what happened in the resurrection is more astonishing, life-transforming and earth-shattering than any human words could ever describe or express.

N. T. Wright writes, “The point of the resurrection…is that the present bodily life is not valueless just because it will die…What you do with your body in the present matters because God has a great future in store for it…What you do in the present—by painting, preaching, singing, sewing, praying, teaching, building hospitals, digging wells, campaigning for justice, writing poems, caring for the needy, loving your neighbor as yourself—will last into God’s future. These activities are not simply ways of making the present life a little less beastly, a little more bearable, until the day when we leave it behind altogether. They are part of what we may call building for God’s kingdom.”

So, yes I do believe in the resurrection. I don’t need to take the bible word for word as literal factual news report to believe in Jesus and his life, death, and resurrection. I think taking the bible as literal is the wrong way of reading the good book. We should read and study it contextually and seriously and let it shape our faith life and walk with Christ. That’s what I try to do. I believe we get so much more out of the bible when we do this. I hope this helps. I hope this clears up any doubt or confusion that I do not believe in the resurrection.

I not only believe and affirm Jesus Christ, the resurrection, and life everlasting, but have glimpsed the truth behind this creedal statement of faith. I have glimpsed what it really means to trust this statement and to begin to shape my life around its true meaning. I have more hope now than I ever did that in this life and the next I can live to the full. Belief in the resurrection is much more about living faith than being orthodox.

3 Comments

  1. You have raised a good question here with “If I say that Adam and Eve is myth, and I would even state that, other parts of the bible are mythic how can I still say the resurrection is a true event in history.”

    I don’t have any definite answers here, and like you I seek answers and the truth. I think more than anything we need to not get tangled up in an arguement about “Were they the first real people?” and with that bypass the important principles from the account of them in Genesis. I think you may have written previously about the impoe\rtance of the principles found there.

    Here is a similar question along those lines…”If we say that Adam and Eve and the story of creation in Genesis is myth and accept evolution instead, is it possible that disobedience of some kind by Adam and Eve would still have been committed the first sentient humans along the path of evolution? In other words, if God had created mankind through evolution, would the principles of the disobedience of Adam and Eve be applicable?”

    I pose that question because I wonder if it would be an appropriate way to help remove the stumbling block that so many seem to find with Adam and Eve. To me, theirs is a story more about explaining our separation from fellowship with God our Father rather than necessarily an explanation of the origins of man.

    This question also make me wonder about the geneology of Jesus from Luke where His ancestry is traced back to Adam, and how that is significant to His work as Savior.

    Thanks for another great post that causes me to think and rethink!

    • Thank you.
      You raise an interesting question. One I may respond to in a future post. As always, thank you for reading and engaging my writings. I do appreciate all of your comments.

  2. Thanks, and just so you know, I’m not trying to persuade you one way or the other. It’s one of those things that I’m unsure of, and I only ask because I know several people for whom the story of Adam and Eve is a barrier to the message of grace through Jesus. “How to get beyond the Garden of Eden and move on to the Grace of God?” is the heart of my question.

Leave a Reply

