At Church Week Four

This past week was quite difficult for me.

Tuesday morning found me in the emergency room with an upper respiratory infection. It began on Sunday after dinner was sitting watching some program on TV with my mom when I felt a wave of something odd float over me. I don’t know if you have had the feeling that something is wrong, some alien presence has entered your body and you know you going to be sick or worse something bad is going to happen. I have learned to at least listen to these feelings. I felt odd for a second or two, maybe less than it was gone. By the time I went to bed I had a headache, the following morning I felt sick. I still went to school and work.  By the time I got home Monday night, I felt worse and fell into bed knowing I was in  trouble.

The following morning I got myself into the doctor, got my diagnosis and went home. I wasn’t happy, but at least I knew what I was dealing with. Bad news can be dealt with as long as we know about it and face it straight on. I began my meds that afternoon. Each day I have been feeling better and better, yet I am not over it. It’s not gone.

The cough, sore throat and raspy voice remain. I didn’t post as often as I usually do this week. I wasn’t able to prepare for my class as much as I would have liked to. There was a possibility,  I would have had to get a substitute. I was better enough to teach my class. I was glad I was there and even though I was not prepared as I usually am we had a good discussion on faith, hope, and joy. More people opened up and shared. I know this class has been for me and I hope it is as good for those who have attended. I will began writing a book on the St. Francis Prayer as soon as the class ends and begin preparing for my next class.

If I believed in the devil, which I am not a Christian should or shouldn’t believe in a demonic being, I might think my illness was some form of his putting a roadblock in my path. I am reminded of a story told about Martin Luther. I’m not sure if it happened, but if goes like this. Martin Luther asleep in bed hears a strange noise, wakes up looks around and sees at the bottom of his bed the devil himself. The devil speaks, but before he say anything, Martin Luther says, “Oh… its only you.” Luther goes back to sleep with out another thought.

I like that! That is how Christians should respond to the evil one and anyone else who means to do us harm. Our faith, hope, and joy is complete in Jesus Christ. It is in and through Christ we are to live our whole lives.  I like C. S. Lewis’ piece of advice: Remember He is the artist and you are only the picture. You can’t see it. So quietly submit to be painted—i.e., keep fulfilling all the obvious duties of your station (you really know quite well enough what they are!), asking forgiveness for each failure and then leaving it alone.You are in the right way. Walk–don’t keep on looking at it.

I have committed to my path. My life, my whole is to lived pointing all to Jesus, Our Lord and Savior, also guiding and walking with others towards the Kingdom of God. I want to be a living sacrifice all to the glory of God. Jesus in Luke 9:56: “No one who puts a hand to the plow and looks back is fit for service in the kingdom of God.” I am not looking back. I moving forward on my path to love God and love others. I may be sick, but I will not let it veer me off course.

I have one more week of my class and it will be about the final line of the St. Francis Prayer: It is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.

I hope you had a much better week than I did.

Leave a Reply

