Church is Good and Important

I have mentioned in a couple of my blogs how Church is not the engine of our salvation. That Jesus alone is responsible for our faith, salvation, and sanctification. So, while church can not save us it is still very important. I go to church every sunday. I am glad for the church I belong to and for the leaders. Both of the pastors are men of God deeply committed to the way of Jesus. Everyone I have interacted with at church are also committed to the way of Our Lord. I may disagree with some on a some issue, but I commend their willingness to follow where Jesus leads.

Yes, Church is good and important, but it won’t save us and shouldn’t be worshiped. There is only one who is worthy of our worship. That is Jesus, the author of our faith.

I like the bold and blunt quote attributed to Augustine: The Church is a whore, but she is my mother.

One online source says: To the best of my knowledge, he is quoted as having said those famous words, but there is no written reference to this in his writings. Some people think that it was actually Martin Luther who said it first and then it was somehow attributed to A.; other thinks that Augustine said it, and ML quoted him… http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080802101601AAC5jmc

Tony campolo explains this quote by saying the first part about how the church strays from the way of the church and often misleads people. The church has done many wrong things in its history. History is riddled with how the church has done things opposite of how Jesus wants things done and have harmed many who want to follow Him. Yet, if it weren’t for the church we would have the bible and many wonderful teachings. We wouldn’t have many good and wonderful things. She’s my mother. The church for all its whoring have been blessing, also.

We are imperfect and so our churches also will be imperfect. If we were to find a perfect church we should not join it, because we would just wreck it. All of us have stumbled, stepped on toes, and fallen short of the grace of God. None of us are without blemish. We will fall short and that is why we need Jesus. It is in those moments when we fall short, when we stumble, when we step on toes and stray from the right path that we discover how much we really do need Jesus.

Yes, Church is good and important, but it won’t save us. It’s all about Jesus. Jesus is the one who leads and when we follow even though we stumble we will stay on the right path. It is when we choose to go it alone that we need to come back to our shepherd.

Jesus: I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his life for the sheep. The hired hand is not the shepherd and does not own the sheep. So when he sees the wolf coming, he abandons the sheep and runs away. Then the wolf attacks the flock and scatters it. The man runs away because he is a hired hand and cares nothing for the sheep. I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me—just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep. (John 10:11-15)

Leave a Reply

