Blog Changes

You may notice that this blog looks different. It’s not as dark or stark as the previous look. I hope you like the new look and it is more appealing to you. Please look around and peek at my thoughts. I am sure you will find something to like, feel free to share and comment.

Do you like the new look?

This blog has grown. I have had just over 19,000 overall views. This blog has helped me to discern my thoughts and positions on many things. I have wanted to be hip and cool. I failed at that. I am not hip or cool. The more I write and the more I interact with people in and out of the church the more I see at heart I am pastoral. I don’t coddle people. I challenge my readers and I will speak out when I must. My life purpose and the reason for this blog: to live out my faith the best I can and pointing people to the love and grace of God found in Jesus Christ.

I have also changed the sub-title. I would like to explain it briefly.

Radical

For me radical means that I am progressive. I am liberal. I want to be part of a revolution of love based on the teachings of Jesus particularly on the Sermon on the Mount. I want to love and serve and call other Christians to do the same. I want to be a radical in the church and call the church back to its subversive witness of the word and alternative to the world. The church and its members should look and act different from the world. The church should exist as a beacon of light for the broken world.

Evangelical

I am not conservative by any stretch of the imagination. I am Evangelical in the classical meaning of the word. I believe in God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit. I believe that Jesus is the way to God. Jesus life, teachings, death, and resurrection opened up a way for all to come to God. We are called into personal relationship with the Creator-King of the universe. I read the bible. I take the bible serious and not literal. The bible is authoritative for our faith. The bible and science are not at odds since the bible is not a science textbook. The story of Adam and Eve is not history. It is a myth explaining our origins and how God intended life to be lived.

Protestant

I deny the universal authority of the Pope and affirm the Reformation principles of justification by faith alone, the priesthood of all believers, and the primacy of the Bible as the only source of revealed truth. I currently have a series of reflections on here about the solas (grace alone, faith alone, Jesus alone, scripture alone, and all to the glory of God). The last one I still have to write up. I am a member of a PCUSA church and I am about to take the first step towards ordination. I still have to go to seminary, though. I believe a protestant is one who rejects the power of any church or religious leader to reject or deny a person the love and grace of God and proclaims the primacy and sovereignty of God to work in the life of the individual.

Mystic

God is everywhere and is present in each person. Life is a miracle. To live our lives authentically and openly is an act of holiness. I am a contemplative. I have a strong and rich inner life and seek to deepen it and live more out of this center. I am a child of God and my primary identification is as one loved by God. I will be walking along and be walloped by the goodness of life. Sometimes I will be in the library or somewhere else and a sense of being loved will overcome me or I will walking outside and sense that behind the natural world is an all-pervasive presence of love. For me God is more a presence you experience not a person or a being, at least in the ordinary sense.

You don’t have to be any or all of these things to read and get something out of this blog. Don’t let me calling myself these things chase you away. I also call myself the purple marble in the bag of black and whites.

How would you describe yourself?

2 Comments

  1. I like the new look, and I especially like the sub-title. I have been thinking about “radical” myself lately too.

Leave a Reply

