I Am Pro-Life

I am Pro-life.

I believe life is more than birth and extends beyond the grave. I have not the slightest clue how or what life beyond this life will be like, but I trust that my life will go on. That there is more and to this more our life steadily moves towards. We have no choice in the matter life goes marching on, ever forward to our destiny. Life always has and always will find a way. It need not our help, but we can and should celebrate life. All of life is sacred for it comes from God, the redeemer and sustainer of life.

Life is a grand, epic miracle. Yes, Life is a miracle! Each day we are invited to revel in the miracle that is life. Just to breath, just to live, just to be is holy. We are on holy ground and should live in deep reverence to life, reality, divine, the holy, God–whatever you want to call it. Life is good and conspires for our Good. Life is a gift. Life is beautiful.

I know, life can be hard, harsh, and terrible at times. Evil things happen. Yet, I don’t think dwelling on the bad will ever make us feel better. We are called to serve our neighbor, to speak truth in tragedy, and to do good. If we dwell on the bad that is flung at us than we will cripple ourselves from serving, speaking, and doing good. If you are going through hell, keep going. (Winston Churchill)

To be Pro-life is about more than being against abortion.

To be Pro-life means we support, care, and work for the children among us. That we live in loving-kindness towards everyone we meet. That we are kind and forgiving to ourselves. As the Buddhist Monk Thich Nhat Hanh says, “Walk as if you are kissing the Earth with your feet. The miracle is not to walk on water. The miracle is to walk on the green earth, dwelling deeply in the present moment and feeling truly alive.”

John 10:10: I have come that they may have life, and life to the full. 

Deuteronomy 30:19: This day I call the heavens and the earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live.

To me to be Pro-life means to live with the promise to live by and through compassion, love, hope, and Joy. Do I always live this way? No. I am not prefect, but I am better than I used to be and always try to be better than I used to take, yet if I had a million years I still couldn’t perfect myself and that’s why I need and am thankful for what Jesus did and does in my life and others.

I am Pro-life, life is a miracle, and we are on holy ground so live with so I urge you to live with the sure knowledge that “There is no pit so deep, that God’s love is not deeper still.” (Corrie Ten Boom)  

Saying that I am pro-life is not about taking a side on the abortion as it is about how I view and wish to interact with life. Saying I am pro-life means, I want to be part of a loving community (right now that means being involved at the church I attend) and want to meet my soul mate and build a mature loving relationship with her. Saying I am pro-life means choosing to live my best life now holding fast to my faith and living by grace alone knowing that on my own I cannot do it, but with God all things are possible. What does that leave out? Nothing! Saying I am pro-life means living life to the full, loving wastefully, hoping beyond hope, and scattering joy wherever I go. Saying I am pro-life means offering my life as a living sacrifice and fulfilling the law of God by loving everyone as I love myself.

Understanding pro-life this way doesn’t it mean that anyone who accepts Jesus as their Lord and Savior is Pro-life?

Are you pro-life?

1 Comment

  1. Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very helpful info specifically the last section 🙂 I take care of such info much. I was seeking this particular info for a long time. Thanks and good luck.

Leave a Reply

