I Am Liberal; I Am Christian

Here, I go again. I’m going to burst bubbles and shock people, upset people, and speak my mind.

I am a liberal.

I am open to progress or reform in political or religious life. I believe that there is truth in every religion and my hope is that God’s grace extends beyond the boundaries of the Christian Religion. I believe in complete personal freedom, especially as guaranteed by law and secured by governmental protection of civil liberties. In America, everyone should have the right to pursue their happiness in their way as long as it doesn’t harm someone else. I am open to new opinions and willing to discard traditional values. I am also willing to listen to other viewpoints and come to my own conclusions. I know there may come a time when I will change one or more of my own opinions that life is a journey where I am called to evolve into a better, more humane, humble human being.
I agree with John Kennedy when he said, “If by a Liberal they mean someone who looks ahead and not behind, someone who welcomes new ideas without rigid reactions, someone who cares about the welfare of the people — their health, their housing, their schools, their jobs, their civil rights, and their civil liberties — someone who believes we can break through the stalemate and suspicions that grip us in our policies abroad, if that is what they mean by a “Liberal,” then I’m proud to say I’m a Liberal.”

I am Christian.

I believe in God Our Father, Maker of heaven and earth, giver and sustainer of all that is good, right, and beautiful. And in Jesus Christ Our Lord and Savior was crucified, dead, and buried; the third day he rose again from the dead; he ascended into heaven. I believe in the Holy Ghost; the holy catholic Church; the communion of saints; the forgiveness of sins; the resurrection of the body; and the life everlasting.

I believe that a Christian is called to love the unlovable, accept the unacceptable, include the excluded, bring hope to hopelessness, joy to sadness, and light to darkness. We love because God loved us first. A Christian is not someone who sits in a pew sings praise tunes, and listens to his pastors thoughts one day a week. A Christian is one who forms his life around the life, teachings, crucifixion, and resurrection of Jesus Christ.

Kathleen Norris said, “The Christian religion asks us to put our trust not in ideas, and certainly not in ideologies, but in a God Who was vulnerable enough to become human and die, and Who desires to be present to us in our ordinary circumstances.” 

Now, I would like to address a few things that conservatives fight over the most. I thoughts on these are informed by both my liberalism and Christianity.

Taking America back for GodIf Jesus didn’t use violence to recover Israel why would God want the followers of Jesus to use force or coercion to take America or any other earthly nation for God or the church. Jesus is not in the business of nation building, but saving people from themselves and reconciling all of creation to God.

Voting for the Christian candidateI don’t think our nation is served by merely electing Christians. I don’t want all our elected officials to think as I do. I think our city, state, and national leaders should be made up of all kinds of people, the best kinds of people. I would like to think that I would vote for the best candidate.

AbortionI have not completely formulated my thoughts on this subject. Is it murder? Maybe. As such, it should be restricted if not outlawed. Yet, if we are going to outlaw this then we need to protect women and prevent rape and incest as much as we can. More than we now do. We also need to take much better care of the children we do have. We need to do more about the rampant bullying in our schools. Outlawing abortion cannot just be about saving the unborn, but also caring about the living children among us.

Gay marriageAll I am going to say is that in a free country to restrict or limit the rights of any group or person to do what the majority can easily do is wrong, very wrong. As a nation, we should give full rights to everyone. Just because our nation grants rights to everyone no matter what doesn’t mean we sanction their lifestyle. I don’t agree with the thoughts and ideas of certain groups, but I would never seek to limit or restrict their rights. As Christians, I think we should be more concerned with the rising divorce rates than with people who are in love and simply want to build a life together.

The culture warAre not Christians supposed to be in the world, but not of it? Why should we fret over winning a war centered on this world? Didn’t Paul, the apostles, and theologians of the church use the dominant culture to make the gospel intelligible to the people?

Defending political freedom at and abroadjust like taking America back for God this not something we need to do. Just like this past year, showed freedom wins out. As Christians, we should speak out against injustice and seek to do justice, but should not force it on anyone.

Prayer in public schools and at public eventsPrayer is an important practice, something I suppose we should all do more of and not just in public. We should pray at home before we go to school, work, or anywhere else. We can also say silent prayers as others around murmur around us. I do this before class begins and before I take tests. We shouldn’t make a big deal about prayer. Just pray.

Displaying the Ten Commandments in government buildings on this one, I simply ask why we fuss about displaying this section of the bible and not the Sermon on the Mount.

I am an unapologetic Liberal; I am unapologetic Christian.

1 Comment

  1. leeleegirl4

    Well said. Christians don’t have to be conservative or follow any specific politcal beliefs. I find myself that I lean more liberal than conservative too, however not exactly kind of liberal as you, or anybody else. That is what’s cool about it- the freedom to choose what we believe.

Leave a Reply

