Father, Into Your Hands I Commit My Spirit

Luke 23:46—Jesus called out with a loud voice, “Father, into your hands I commit my spirit.” When he had said this, he breathed his last.

The last word from the cross is an announcement and not a request traditionally called ‘The Word of Reunion’ and theologically interpreted as the proclamation of Jesus joining God, Our Father in Heaven.

Jesus took on himself the sin of the world and took what we deserved in order that we may receive, by grace, what we do not deserve. In darkness, He paid the price for our sin. He took the wrath of God for us. He tells us to come to him, to lay down our burden and find rest. He took on himself our burden and felt its full weight on the cross. My sin, your sin, the sin of the world was nailed to Jesus on the cross.

We were baptized with Jesus on that cross, but Jesus because he loves us took what was rightfully ours so that we don’t have to fear and suffer utter darkness and dislocation from God. In his saving act Jesus made a way for us to have Eternal Life. He would not turn from his promise to save his people. For he is our Mediator between God and us, giving himself as ransom and purchased our salvation through the awful, desolation of enduring our rightful punishment.

The promise of eternal life is present in the suffering death of Christ Jesus on the cross.

At the cross, all sins were erased and as we accept and respond to Jesus’ saving act we feel and begin to understand that we are forgiven and need not fear. Our sins are erased, they are remembered no more. This was the day in the history that the guilt of our sins was blotted out, since the Jesus, Our Lord and Savior was the perfect substitute for His people before. This was the only day in history that a perfectly sinless man suffered for the sins of all in order to reconcile all of creation back to God. Jesus spoke with a loud voice to let His disciples know, to let us know, to let everyone know that the Lord Jesus laid down His life voluntarily for His people; it was not taken from Him, but He laid it down of His own power. He laid down His life because He had completed the torments of Hell for all the sins of the world. He had completed the payment for our sins.

John 10:17, 18— The reason my Father loves me is that I lay down my life—only to take it up again. 18 No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down and authority to take it up again. This command I received from my Father.”

In many places, the Bible says that we have been crucified with Christ and in Christ; we have died with Christ and in Christ. We have been buried with Christ and in Christ. We have been raised with Christ and in Christ; we have ascended with Christ and in Christ into heaven. We are seated with Christ and in Christ in Heaven. We are presently reigning with Christ and in Christ. I cannot list all the references to the things I am speaking about, but we here is just one example:

Rom 6:3, 4—Don’t you know that all of us who were baptized into Christ Jesus were baptized into his death? 4 We were therefore buried with him through baptism into death in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, we too may live a new life.

Jesus suffered death on a cross, so that we might live to the full now and into eternity.

My prayer on Holy Saturday, a day of waiting, wishing and hoping is: Lead me to the Cross where Your love poured out. Bring me to my knees. Lord, lay me down. Rid me of myself, I belong to You. Lead me, lead me to the cross.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

