To Be Yourself

I often refer to myself as the purple marble in a bag of black and whites. Growing up, I never felt like I belonged. There are times when I still don’t feel quite to fit in, though I am more at peace with who I am and learning to be me, the real me as opposed to the me others would like me to be. I am dedicated to becoming the me I want to be and I am OK with the fact that this growth process is a life-long experiment. I will never arrive at a perfect me.

My favorite bible verse is John 10:10, “I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” This, to me is what life in the Kingdom is all about. Living life to the full here and now, not waiting for some far off paradise to be the person we were created to be, being the glorious, Christ-centered, God-glorifying, humble Child of God now.

We are to display the radiant image of God to the world. We do this not by closing off certain parts of our true self, but by actualizing the person God made us to be. God made us to be a gift to the world. We live our fullest life when we live towards the best within us. Not by conforming to what the world thinks we are, but by being who we really are. People will tell us who we should be, what is right for us, and tempt us with all sorts of things by yielding to their idea of who we are. The moment we sacrifice who we are to who others want us to be, we lose ourselves.

To be yourself is to fight the toughest fight and we are going have to battle our entire life. Some people will be happy for us to give in, but when they decide, we should go away we won’t know who we are. Listen to the words of the poet E. E. Cummings said, “To be nobody but-yourself—in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else—means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting.”

There was a time when I tried being someone I thought others wanted me to be. It was a lie. I was living a lie. I was not happy. That person decided I should go away. I was lost. I didn’t who I was or what was the truth. God drew near to me and guided me to a place where I could learn who I am, what the truth is, and what the true purpose of life is. I now have more confidence in who I am and know that I can live my life to the full by being who I really am in and through Christ to the glory of God.

If you work with children and are trying to guide them into maturing into who they really who, who God made them to be you should constantly remind them that they are loved and never have to sacrifice who they really are to appease someone else. God loves us as we are and not as we should be, because nobody will ever be as they should be. Our true friends, the people who love us as we are know are faults and still want to be our friends. They know we are not perfect and still they call us friend.

If you are struggling with becoming your true self, as I once was don’t let anyone tell you who you are. Know that you never have to sacrifice yourself to anyone and God loves us as we are and not as we should be, because nobody will ever be as they should be.

Writer and speaker Leo Buscaglia said, “I can make myself the most wondrous, delectable, magical, juicy plum in the world. There may be people allergic to plums. Then I can make myself over into a banana, but I’ll always be the second best banana where I could have concentrated on being the very best plum and being patient until a plumb lover came by. If you’ve stopped being a plum and dedicated yourself into being a banana and that person should decides banana should split you’ll be in great trouble, because you won’t know who you are.”

Don’t let anyone tell you who you are or that you are wrong that is between you and God. Not everyone is going to like you and they shouldn’t. Be you and be patient until someone who can appreciate you for you comes along. I believe that God is saying today that it’s OK to be you. Be you. It’s OK.

. Oscar Wilde: Be yourself. Everyone else is already taken.

Leave a Reply

