What I Have Been Thinking About

This week I have been thinking about many things. It seemed that everywhere I turned there was someone saying or doing something that pissed me off. I have waited a little bit to write something on these things. I didn’t want to write something that might offend, though this still might.

This post will be personal and a rant of sorts. I need to get this off my chest. You, my dear reader don’t need to read it.

First, before the rant I would like to thank the people who read my recent blog ‘My Coming Out.’ It has gotten the most hits of my posts this year and has caused some to talk about the themes. One person said that labeling it as ‘My Coming Out’ was undermining the struggle many LGBT people have in coming out. That was not my intention, I wanted to help and not hurt. Yet, I think a Christian coming out as one who not just says they love gay people, but will stand up for the full rights of LGBT people can be hard too, risky even. I hope that this post and my others posts will help others, but make no mistake my posts are about my journey as a Christian in this world and a part of a much larger conversation going on.

I don’t have all the answers and I am just trying to learn what it means really to follow Jesus.

That leads me to Kirk Cameron. Someone I have almost forgotten about. I liked watching his sit-com Growing Pains, but since he turned Christian, I haven’t had much admiration for him. I saw him once on this show that went around with him and another guy preaching fire and brimstone to people on the street telling them that if they didn’t repent they might go to hell that night and burn. I do not like these turn or burn street preachers who emphasize God’s wrath and willingness to send people to hell. They are almost gleeful about people burning in hell. I do not agree with their packaging of the gospel or their theology.

Hell is real. It took me awhile to accept this, but hell is a reality that denying won’t change. Yet, I do not believe that God sends people to hell. I wrote a post about how the senior pastor of my church helped me see that God doesn’t send people to hell, we do (Asking The Wrong Question). God loves everyone beyond anything they have, haven’t done, or could ever do. God’s love is unconditional, limitless, and perfect. We must begin with love and show others God’s love and grace with our life. Gandhi’s issue with Christianity was not with Jesus, but his followers. A recent documentary’s title sums it up succinctly ‘Lord Save Us From Your Followers.’

So, Cameron on Piers Morgan Tonight says something so awful that I will not repeat his words here. I will leave at this: he believes homosexuality is a sin. I don’t. I find nothing wrong with two people in a love wanting to be together. I hope one day to find the same love, I will find this love in a woman but just because I find with someone of the opposite sex does not mean that someone else should be denied loving someone of the same sex. We should stand up for love wherever it manifests. Love is a miracle and should be celebrated as such.

Even if you disagree with me and say homosexuality is wrong I don’t think you could possibly agree with the wording that Cameron and those of his ilk would use. They are wrong to use the words they do. I believe even those people who don’t support the full rights of LGBT people would and should be against people spewing hatred. All of us should be united against anyone who willfully hates another and should stop them from spewing their hate over our airwaves and to our children.

Martin Luther King Jr.: Like an unchecked cancer, hate corrodes the personality and eats away its vital unity. Hate destroys a man’s sense of values and his objectivity. It causes him to describe the beautiful as ugly and the ugly as beautiful, and to confuse the true with the false and the false with the true. Hate is too big of burden to bear. I have decided to love.

I am sure you have heard the awful words that Rush Limbaugh said about Sandra Fluke. What I want to say about Rush Limbaugh is that he was WRONG and his false apology and the inability for any conservative to come out and say that Limbaugh was out of line shows that the conservative side of the aisle has gone way too extreme and has become dangerous to a free society. I am not saying all conservatives are wrong, but there is a faction in the Republican Party that is wrong and dangerous. I know a few conservatives that I like and consider true Christians. I appreciate having them in my life because they have opened up my opinion of conservatives. I would not include them in this faction. It is sad to look at the republican presidential nominees and think that this is the same party of Abraham Lincoln.

Simply: Limbaugh was wrong and Obama is right in calling Sandra Fluke up and offering her kind words. For me, this is not about contraceptives, liberal, or conservative, but is about the words and attitude of Rush Limbaugh and the inability or unwillingness of any conservative to call out Limbaugh for it.

Martin Luther King Jr.: We must rapidly begin the shift from a “thing-oriented” society to a “person-oriented” society. When machines and computers, profit motives and property rights are considered more important than people, the giant triplets of racism, materialism, and militarism are incapable of being conquered.

My hope in writing these words is to get this off my chest and I hope I have not said anything that would be too offensive. You may disagree with me and I would like to hear from you, but I hope that you agree more than you disagree.

1 Comment

  1. Here’s a rave for your rant!

Leave a Reply

