Embracing Disappointment

Life is going to disappointment you. Sorry to say that, it’s the truth. Eventually, something bad will happen. Sometimes what looks good will turn sour. If nothing bad ever happened to us, we could not know how good the good things really are. Failure often leads to success, defeat to victory, and death to life.

I am certain many of us have already suffered disappointment a few times and some new disappointment lays in our future. We’ve been through break ups, death of loved ones, illness, and conflict with others. We have lost jobs, been looked over for job, a car that won’t start at night or in the morning, not get the toy we wanted so badly. Countless things happen to us in our daily lives that conspire to disappoint us. Something dark and ominous lurks on the horizon. Storm clouds are forming.

Now, I am not being a pessimist or depressive. I am neither of those things and I don’t want to get you down in the dumps. I am an optimist and believe that the best years are not behind us but in front of us, but that doesn’t mean that we will always be blissfully happy until we shuffle off this mortal coil.

Becoming a Christian has taught me that life is hard that we are dealt blows that stop us in mid-stream. Life is not easy, yet that’s only the first part; the second part is that we have a Lord and Savior in Jesus who is always with us and will guide us on our way and has left was wonderful teachings that will help us lead a right life if we center our lives on it. Becoming a Christian while I have not given up on my optimism has made me into a realist. Cynicism is easy, while optimistic realism acknowledges that life is not all roses and sunshine, but that no matter what happens we can face it and not falter in our trust that life is good, a miracle.

Genesis 15: “Do not be afraid, Abram. I am your shield, your very great reward.”

God told this to Abram many, many years ago and I believe He is telling each of us this today. Today, God is telling us that your reward will be very great. When we seek to do the will of our Heavenly Father and rejoice in our sufferings (Romans 5:3) our reward will be very great.

What is our very great reward?

The blessing is to live in light, truth, love, grace, and beauty, or to put it in another way to live right with reality.

This is not a hope, for me it is a reality. Once upon a time, there was a girl that I thought I could not live without that I needed her to be sane and happy. This was a lie. A lie I have seen through. That relationship imploded. She is in the past. If she were to walk up to me now saying, she wanted to become friends again, if I would agree to it. I now know that I had to suffer through this break up and the pain it caused to realize I don’t need to live for anyone, but can live for myself to the glory of God. I need to be who I really am without fearing I will disappointment someone. I have released all criticism, condemnation, resentment, and hostility for her and our friendship. I hope she is and will be happy and I send her nothing but love.

I feared that moving back home would be ruinous. That it would be a step in the wrong direction, yet this too has been a blessing for me and I hope for my aging parents too. I know this is a mere stop on my journey.

I don’t know how God can make both the bad and good that happens to us into blessings for us and others, but I do trust that He does and I know that life is a gift from God. That living life to the fullest as our authentic self is the very great reward the bible promises us. It will look different to each of us, but life is a miracle, a grand, sweeping, transformative, amazing miracle. Live the miracle.

As Jewish philosopher, Abraham Joshua Heschel said, “Just to be is a blessing. Just to live is holy.”

Leave a Reply

