What I Am Doing For Lent?

Usually during Lent we give something up that is not healthy or in accord with a God-honoring, Christ-centered life.

One year I gave up buying books, but that didn’t go well. I didn’t last the entire 40 days.

Last year I didn’t give up anything, chose to pray more and read the bible more. I must that it was very rewarding.

To give up something is not as transforming as doing something, but I think if you join the two together it can be a powerful, insightful, and life-changing way of journeying through the Lent season. This year I am going to try to temper giving up something with doing something.

I spend way too much playing a game on Facebook; Zuma Blitz is the game I play. You may know it. It’s a way to waste time and can be better than doing other things, but I could be doing something more constructive. So, I am going to give up playing that game at least until Lent is over. In its place, I will do homework (on time or early, I have a tendency of turning in homework late), read the bible and other books, and spend more time with my family and friends.

Back in January, I said I was going to walk more and pray more. I have not done this as much as I would like to, but I am going to make more of a commitment to do this. I have been walking a bit more, but I need to walk more. I do have a foot injury, which I am not going to get into here, but I cannot let it derail me too much. I hope that you, my reader will also take up this challenge during Lent to walk more and pray more. It’s a good thing to do no matter what your situation is. With these practices I will be positive, not get down on others or myself.

I will eat more of the good things. I have tried to cut the bad stuff out, but maybe the way to go about this is just to eat the healthy stuff and not worry so much about the sweets and other junk food. This is a positive way to about this.

I am not saying this for you to look at me as such a good person as much as I am challenging you to make your own Lent practice and to look at your life and see the areas where you can be more Christ-like.

Leave a Reply

