Answering The Call

God’s calls and we answer.

In God’s call is His transforming love and grace.

In our answer is our faithful response to the word and work of God.

God told Abram to go.

Psalm 34 says taste and see that God is good.

Jesus says come and see.

In each life God calls, not every call is to the same thing. We can be called to change how we interact with each other, what we do for a living, where we live, how we spend our time and money, how and where we worship God, how understand God or life. God can call us in countless ways. We can be called in or out, to or away, with or away from. There is not only one call or one way to answer the call. The point to understand is that God calls us, we don’t choose when we are called or to what we are called to.

For Abram it was a call to leave his homeland and go to a far country. Abram’s call can be symbolical of the journey each of us takes in this life. We can use the journey of Abram among many others chronicled in the bible as a map for our spiritual journey, but it is important to know that God doesn’t call everyone in the same way.

I was called out of the Mormon Church and into the Christian faith. A long winding road that I am still on and I don’t know where this road is leading me. I have committed to the way of Jesus and whether it brings blessing or curse, it is my path.

I was called to a Presbyterian church. While there have been times where I have been at odds with this church, I value the community I have found.

I have been called to write this blog and I feel a call to write books, and further develop my ideas I have posted on this page. To my faith, understanding, and love with others in the hope it will help others in their faith journey.

I have been called into the world of healthcare and I feel a call to be a Hospital Chaplain and maybe a pastor.

Where have you been called? Have you been called into the world of politics, law, or healthcare? Have you been called to care for the lost, sick, poor, and abandoned? Have you been called to care for animals or the environment?

I believe that each dream from our heart that agrees with our true self and is aligned with the gospel of Jesus Christ is a call from God. As Christians, we are called to be the hands and feet of God in a broken world. Each of us, whether we self-identify as Christian or not are called to love and serve others, no matter who we are we are loved by the Creator of the universe, can accept the grace of our Lord and Savior, and can extend the same love and grace to others.

Leave a Reply

