Journey And Longing

Entering the Lent season, it is only natural to reflect on the events that brought us to the cross of Jesus and our faithful response to the work of God in our lives. Our lives are both a journey back to God and a longing to wholeness and holiness. Each day is a stop on our journey through life and faith dotted with times of longing.

I would like to reflect on what it means to journey with God in this life and the longing my heart and soul feels.

My blog is part of my faith journey and my hope is that is has helped my constant readers in their faith journey. Some have commented, thanking me and pushing me to go deeper, and even challenge me on some of my ideas.

I began by defending my appreciation of Rob Bell’s Love Wins went on to post my reflections from Dietrich Bhonoffers Cost of Discipleship then my problems and critiques of the Christian faith, have talked about my need for a savior and how I came to faith and posted my reflections on Advent season. I posted reflections on the St. Francis Prayer. I’ve asked questions and protested some things. I wrote about overhearing someone on public transport hoping that President Obama would be crucified. I have tried to use my blog as a way to converse on my Christian faith. I have attempted to be transparent about my problems and failures in living up to faith commitment.

You can read about all of these on my blog and I hope if you are new that you will take a few minutes to look around.

For me, to journey with God means living in the world and facing each day with hope and strength not giving into despair or frustration. Life is not always the way we want it to be and faith to mean anything it has to enable us to live the bad as well as the good. God won’t do for us what we can and should do on our own. Also, faith is not about just us, it should point us outward to others. God loves us, but that’s not enough and is meaningless unless it strengthens us to extend the same love and grace to others at all times. Too often, we want God to endorse our agenda, but to follow God means giving up our desires for the dream of God.

Faith Journey is not the easy life, but if it were easy than it wouldn’t be as transforming as it is. Following God displaces us as the center of our life and recognizes the true center and source of all of life. No matter how awful we feel about ourselves, how lost we feel we are called to be the hands and feet of God in the world. Focus on this and we will begin to understand the truth behind ‘The Body of Christ’.

I long to be a truly honest transparent and loving person, really wishing for the good of the other person, and wishing it on myself as well. I would like to have a passionate love for justice on behalf of others, no matter what it might cost. I would like to be a peacemaker, able to reconcile enemies. I would like to be a champion of the poor, oppressed, and downtrodden. My longing for these things is a sign for my longing for God, for God is truth, light, and love, the God of compassion and justice, the God of the poor and oppressed. The more I focus on the things, for which I long, the stronger the longing will be and the greater my loathing for whatever opposes this longing.

My hope for my readers and I is that in this season of repentance, prayer, and fasting is that God will help us recognize the world as divine sacrament—as a sign, an effective sign, of God’s presence in all things and all people.

Leave a Reply

