A Valentine’s Day Message

It’s Valentine’s Day!

Some of you may be taking your sweetie out to dinner or making dinner for him or her.  You’ll be exchanging presents bought or made by your hand.

I would like to share some words on this day.

This day of love and romance, my message is God loves you. This can be incredible to believe and some cannot believe this. In the truth of this sentiment is hope, light, grace, and endurance. Embracing God’s love for us enables us better become the persons God intended us to be from the beginning.

The gospel of John gives us a new commandment to love.

1 John says God is love.

 Galatians 5 sums up the entire law as love your neighbor as yourself.

Love is at the heart of the Christian faith. To be a Christian is to love. Love is our purpose and our reason for being in the world. We show others the love that has already been given to us by God. It’s sad that a vast number of non-Christians don’t see Christians as loving. We need to renew our call to love.

It is not always easy to love or accept love. I have written about my problems in loving others. I think that you too have your problems with loving others. If loving others weren’t so difficult than it wouldn’t be such a noble pursuit.

Love is something we all want. I know I do. I don’t have a sweetheart this year, but know that I need to be hopeful and patient that love will enter my life soon. I pray that we who hope for this will soon find the love we yearn for.

The key I believe is found in St. Francis prayer when he prays let me sow love and I may not so much seek to be loved, as to love. If we want love, we need to be loving. Love is not something outside of us, but something we are deeply in our inner being.  

So, this Valentine’s day whether you have or don’t have a sweetie know that God loves you and in this knowing extend the very same love that God has lavished on you.

1 Comment

  1. leeleegirl4

    This is the best Valentines post I have read yet. God’s love is truly the most important thing.

Leave a Reply

