My Problem With Loving Everyone

 I have written about loving people. About showing love to others and not abusing people, about treating others how we want to be treated. About not just loving those who love us or are like us, but loving everyone. I trust that if we love everyone than our life will be better and we will be doing our part in making the world a better place. We will be doing our part in proclaiming the Kingdom of God.

The liberal should love the conservative, the conservative the liberal.

The Christian should love the atheist, the atheist the Christian.

The Hindu should love the Muslim, the Muslim the Hindu.

The rich should love the poor, the poor the rich.  

The young should love the elderly, the elderly the young.

The healthy should love the sick, the sick the healthy.

The optimist should love the cynic, the cynic the optimist.

Its’ not my line that we should love everyone it’s Gods. Leviticus 19:18, Matthew 22:39, Luke 10:27, Romans 13:9, Galatians 5:14, and James 2:8 tells us to love our neighbor. In one of Jesus’ parables, we are told that our neighbor is the person in front of us. We are to love the person in front of us, not because they are such a good person or because they deserve our love, but because God first loved us.

Romans 5: God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

1 John 4: let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God. Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love. This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him.

This might horrify you, but I must confess that sometimes it is hard for me to love everyone. I sometimes see a homeless person only find disgust. I see a jerk. I detest him or her. I see news segments about the cruelty some do to others and I hate them. I wrote a post that I have removed about a religious leader who took advantage of children in very evil ways and I wrote things that while came from my heart was not anywhere in the ballpark of love.

I don’t love everyone.

There I said it. It’s out. I fail at the very thing I urge others to do.

I don’t willfully hate, detest, and wish ill on others. It’s a reaction, a response to the words and deeds of others.  I struggle with loving certain people. I am not able to love some.

I doubt I am alone. I am sure you have trouble loving some too.

As followers of Jesus, we need to ask ourselves how we can love everyone.

I don’t have the answer.

I can only pray that God will lead me more and more into his ways, into living in the Kingdom now that I will be able to do what I want to do, but don’t do.

Leave a Reply

