Pray More, Walk More

This is a response to my earlier post where I listed my resolutions for the New Year.

I committed to praying more and walking more, to limiting my intake of sweets and treating those in my life more graciously and lovingly.

These are all good things. However, as one reader pointed out these resolutions are a tad too vague to be measureable goals. How should I know if I am meeting these resolutions if I don’t have a gage to measure them by? I will need to make goals that are measurable and reachable, but that challenge me.

I will pray for five minutes every morning and every night. I will build up these times to twenty minutes over this year. I will pray at mealtimes even if I am eating alone and take more chances to pray publicly.

I will walk at least ten minutes a day and try for more, building up to 30 minutes by years’ end.

I will cut back on sweets and include healthier options into my diets. By years’ end, I will eliminate all sweets from my diet.

I will write about my adventures to meet and exceed these goals.

Prayer is tough for more. I have a hard time praying in the morning, mostly due to my love of sleeping in. Praying at night is also hard, because I like reading in bed. Therefore, I will need to get up earlier and pray. I can pray before I begin reading in bed. Usually on my own, I forget to pray before eating my meals. I am good at silent, contemplative prayer, when I am walking down the street and see something I can send up a silent prayer or just contemplate the wonders of nature. I also pray for people I encounter both friends and strangers. I say, ‘thank you’ as much as I can and this simple expression of gratitude can be seen as prayer. Prayer is not so much about the time spent in prayer, as it is how it changes the person praying.

As Mother Teresa said, “Prayer makes your heart bigger, until it is capable of containing the gift of God himself. Prayer begets faith, faith begets love, and love begets service on behalf of the poor.”

The walking and healthier eating is about getting healthy losing weight and beating diabetes. My older brother died from this awful disease and I refuse to let my story end like that. I will get healthy and lead a happy, humble, Christ-centered long life for the glory of God.

Drew Carey hit the nail on the head when he said, “Eating crappy food isn’t a reward — it’s a punishment.” Often I used food as both reward and punishment. When something went well I rewarded myself with something yummy and when I was stressed or depressed, I would eat myself into a better mood. I want to make healthier options and live to eat and not eat to live. As Jostein Gaarder wrote in the philosophical novel Sophie’s World, “Health is the natural condition. When sickness occurs, it is a sign that Nature has gone off course because of a physical or mental imbalance. The road to health for everyone is through moderation, harmony, and a ‘sound mind in a sound body’.”

The miracle of human life is living fully with loving kindness in the messy, magical, mystery tour of life.

The ghosts that are the most restless and haunting are all the should have’s and could have’s of our life. All the times we were unable or worse unwilling to be our authentic selves.

This is the year I chose the way I lead the rest of my life.

Will I embrace the miracle of life or consumed by the ghosts of my own making?

Albert Einstein said, “There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.”

6 Comments

  1. There are certainly a lot of details like that to take into consideration. That is a great point to bring up. I offer the thoughts above as general inspiration but clearly there are questions like the one you bring up where the most important thing will be working in honest good faith. I don?t know if best practices have emerged around things like that, but I am sure that your job is clearly identified as a fair game. Both boys and girls feel the impact of just a moment’s pleasure, for the rest of their lives. Video Game Console Reviews

  2. Notable post. Keep up the very smart performance.

  3. Wow, wonderful blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is great, as well as the content!

  4. seo

    Greetings! I’ve been reading your site for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the excellent work!

  5. You made some fine points there. I did a search on the topic and found most folks will consent with your blog.

  6. It goes with no saying that you’ll be a person excellent writer. With that said, I believed I’d abandon you using a quotation from a further wonderful author… “Obstacles are those frightful things you see when you take your eyes off your goal.”

Leave a Reply

