A New Year Message

As one year ends and a new one begins, we tend to think of the good and bad things that have happened in the past year and all the hopes and intentions we have for the New Year. People set resolutions to do or don’t do something to make life easier and more meaningful. This year is no different. 2011 has mere hours left; she has grown old and will soon pass away. 2012 looms on the horizon.  It lurks, peers at us with cold unfeeling eyes and approaches like an animal that is both curious and anxious.

2011 was a tough and challenging year, for me it was my most challenging year thus far. I started it unemployed and with a broken heart. I end it happy, employed and hopeful for what the future holds for me.

Isaiah 43:19: See, I am doing a new thing!

2 Corinthians 5:17: Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!

Jeremiah 29:11: For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

What will 2012 bring? Will it bring blessings or curse; love or hate; happiness or sorrow? I think it will be some combination of all the above. Not that I want bad things to happen, but bad things do happen and all we can do is face the future with an open, loving heart and not let events deter us from loving everyone and stretching towards the best within us. Yet, even when the bad things enter our life and we are tested and challenged we will be able to get through it because we have trust Jesus is there for and with us, even in the darkest time, when we are challenged the most we are not alone. 

I do believe that 2012 will be great year; I believe it will be my best year and I pray that it will be a great year for you too. That even if it is another tough, challenging year it will leave us better than when it begins.

My hope for me is that next year, I will have someone to kiss and hold when 2012 becomes 2013.

As the Catholic Jesuit priest, James Martin posted on his Facebook page, May the New Year be one in which you meet God in new and surprising ways.”

Deuteronomy 30:19: This day I call the heavens and the earth as witnesses against you that I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live

Leave a Reply

