A Chance To Love People

Christian’s should be known as the people that love everyone, love wastefully and radically. We should not just preach love, but love. Whenever someone no matter who they are come near us, they should leave knowing we love them that God love’s them. If we want people to adapt our religion, we should love them and not yell ‘you’re going to hell’ unless they accept our beliefs and ideas. Jesus never did that. If you disagree, I challenge you to point to a single time that Jesus went up to someone and said they were going to hell unless they say the sinners’ prayer. Paul exhorts his readers to model the Jesus way. Both John and James in their letters say to walk the walk and not just talk about it.

John 13:34-35: A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. 35 By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.

1 Corinthians 11:1: Follow my example, as I follow the example of Christ

1 John 2:6: Whoever claims to live in him must live as Jesus did

James 2:17: faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead

Romans 13:8: Owe no one anything, except to love each other, for the one who loves another has fulfilled the law.

Galatians 5:13: do not use your freedom as an opportunity for the flesh, but through love serve one another.

1 Peter 1:22: Having purified your souls by your obedience to the truth for a sincere brotherly love, love one another earnestly from a pure heart

With all these verses in mind, how should we live our faith and extend love to one another?

How should we let others know we love everyone?

How should we let others know God loves everyone?

I think we should live our lives knowing that God loves us, there’s nothing we can do to love any more or less. That’s what grace means. Grace says we are loved and forgiven no strings attached, but that’s not all, that’s just the beginning. We must begin with grace and move outward. We love because God first loved us. God never asked us to clean ourselves up or conform to some idealized image He had for us. God says ‘I love you as you, but I love you so much I will not leave you that way.’  

We shouldn’t just relish our forgiveness, gather in small groups and praise what Jesus has done, is doing and will do. That’s all good. I think we should do something. I think we should live our lives in love by extending love to others; to those we have a hard time loving. I have a hard time loving Mormons, conservatives, rude people, extremists, bigots, and violent people. That’s just a small portion of people I have a hard time loving. Yet, I have been pushing myself to love more and more. Working in retail during Christmas season gave me many chances to love all sorts of people, riding public transport is another chance I get in loving people. Sometimes I don’t do a good job. Yet, I don’t let that stop me. Each day is another chance to love people.

If loving people were easy it would not be such a worthy and noble pursuit and we would not be commanded to do it. The entire bible is replete with verses on loving people. I have only listed a few of those verses. Mother Theresa said that if we want to make a difference we should convince one person who thinks they are alone and unloved that God loves them no matter what.  

My hope, we will be given chances to love people, to love everyone no matter who they are and what they believe.

1 Comment

  1. Robby, great post about love! You are right, love is not easy, but it is essential to live the Kingdom of Heaven, it is the narrow path that we should follow in order to be more like God. Like this blog, do you mind if I add it to my blog roll? God bless.

Leave a Reply

