My Christmas Wish List

I remember when I was a kid I would make intricate lists of all things I wanted for Christmas. All the things I think that would make me happy. I would imagine ripping and tearing open the packages, encountering the things on my list. How very happy I would be at getting all the things on my list.

Yippee!

I usually didn’t get all the things on my list, maybe one or two at the most. I was happy with what I got and appreciative of what was given to me, at that time I thought it came from Santa Claus, which is nice myth for a child to believe in, but now knowing that those gifts were given by parents who didn’t have a load of money means more. I would get clothes, especially socks—why do parents always give socks, as if that was what we wanted to unwrap in the early hours of Christmas morning.

My favorite Christmas memory is when my older brother dressed up as Santa Claus and delivered presents to us. It was awesome! It means more now, since he passed away a few years ago. I like to remember him that way as joyous, loving, and giving. That was probably the best Christmas for me so far. Love and joy uniting my family like never before, I don’t remember the gifts I got, but I do remember my brother and what a great day my family shared together.

There’s a song called Grown-up Christmas List, I like the version sung by Amy Grant the most. Here are a few lyrics.

 

My lifelong wish,

My grown-up Christmas list.

Not for myself,

But for a world in need.

No more lives torn apart,

That wars would never start, (and wars would never start)

And time would heal all hearts.

And everyone would have a friend,

And right would always win,

And love would never end.

This is my grown-up Christmas list.

No more lives torn apart,

That wars would never start,

And time would heal all hearts.

And everyone would have a friend,

And right would always win,

And love would never end.

This is my grown-up Christmas list

 

I like listening to that song, always have, but I think this year it’s taking on added meaning this year. The last year has been hard. I have been challenged and grown in new way. Sometimes surprising me, but always trying to go deep and push myself. When I am unable or unwilling to push myself, I have people in my life that will push me in ways I am resisting. Such as the men in my bible study group. I have used this blog as a way of thinking and expressing my faith journey. I have more to go and grow, but I find that I am more willing and capable of leading the kind of life I want to being the kind of person I know I ought to be and want to be. It feels that I am on the cusp of a great adventure. This next year will be awesome. I may not get all things I want in the coming years, but I will move closer and closer to them and to being the kind of person who can and will handle those wonderful things.

So, with that said what is my Christmas wish list?

Here it is.

1. I want to have a deeper, transformative relationship with my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

“I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ.”  (Philippians 3NIV)

2. I want a full-time job

Henry David Thoreau: “Good for the body is the work of the body, and good for the soul is the work of the soul, and good for either is the work of the other.” 

3. I want to meet more people, make friends with all

George Eliot: “What do we live for, if it is not to make life less difficult for each other?”

4. I want to meet the love of my life… or at least get a girlfriend

Dr. Seuss: “You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.”

5. I want my own place, house, apartment

Ralph Waldo Emerson: “A man builds a fine house; and now he has a master, and a task for life:  he is to furnish, watch, show it, and keep it in repair, the rest of his days.” 

Therefore, in the final analysis I don’t want or need Christmas gifts not the ones that go under the tree with ribbon and bow. I believe if more of us would say no presents this year and spend the time and money to make this Christmas matter to take the message of Christmas serious, we may just change the world and each day can be Christmas day. I want to take the message of Christmas serious and to make this Christmas more meaningful than ever before. That’s one reason why I am writing these reflections on the Advent season. However, if you insist on getting me a gift than you get me a gift card to Barnes and noble or even better take me to lunch or movie.

Yes, I wait with breathless anticipation for the coming again of Jesus.

I will leave you with the words of Bill Murray from the modern re-telling of a Christmas Carol Scooged.

It’s the one night when we all act a little nicer. We smile a little easier. We share a little more. For a couple of hours we are the people we always hoped we would be. It’s really a miracle because it happens every Christmas Eve. And, if you waste that miracle, you’re gonna burn for it. I know. You have to do something. You have to take a chance and get involved. There are people that don’t have enough to eat and who are cold. You can go and greet these people. Take an old blanket out to them or make a sandwich and say, “Here”

“I get it now.”

And, if you give, then it can happen, the miracle can happen to you. Not just the poor and hungry, Everybody’s gotta have this miracle! It can happen tonight for you all! If you believe in this pure thing, the miracle will happen and you’ll want it again tomorrow! You won’t say, “Christmas is once a year and it’s a fraud.” It’s not! It can happen every day! You’ve just got to want that feeling! You’ll want it every day! It can happen to you! I believe in it now. I believe it’s gonna happen to me, now. I’m ready for it! And it’s great. It’s a good feeling. It’s better than I’ve felt in a long time. I’m ready.

Have a Merry Christmas. Everybody.

Leave a Reply

