Bible Study As A Subversive Act

I love the bible. It’s the most awesome book ever!

The bible is full of truth, beauty, grace, wisdom, and story. If used properly the bible can and will transform your life. By properly, I mean we should read the bible seriously without trying to read anything into the text and praying about what we think the bible is saying to us. It has transformed and still is transforming me. If you just read the words and don’t dig deep, you can easily miss the beauty and wisdom. If you take the bible, only literally you don’t read it like it should be read. We should read study and apply the bible to our life. The bible is not ‘Basic Instructions Before Leaving Earth.’ The bible is an amazing collection of wisdom and story. I say take the bible seriously and not literally.

I am not arguing that the any of the events depicted in the bible didn’t happen. I am arguing that we should look deep and learn from the bible. The bible is authoritative to our faith journey, it informs us how to live, respond to life, and treat others, but should not be viewed as inerrant or literal.

Scientist and writer Clifford Pickover writes, “The bible is an alternate-reality device. It gives its readers a glimpse of other ways of thinking and of other worlds. It is also among the most mysterious books ever written. We are not always sure of the intended message. We only know that the bible reflects and changes humankind’s deepest feelings. The bible chips away at the edges of our unconscious. At a minimum, the bible is a fascinating model of human understanding–of how we reach across cultures to connect with one another and learn about what we hold as sacred. Perhaps with this kind of interface, one might even look for realms beyond our ordinary reality. “

I think everyone should just pick up the bible and read. Don’t worry about reading it the right way or coming away with an orthodox belief. Don’t worry about not reading it the way some religion would have you read.

Read, contemplate what you read, reflect on what the text might be trying to say to you and pray about it.

First Just read.

This is subversive. To read the bible and let it work on you goes against what the world would have you do. The world would tell you it’s all myth (they usually mean myth in the negative sense, a made up story) and that none of it true or it was translated wrong or it’s rubbish. The world wants you to dismiss the bible. It’s rebellious and seditious to the world systems of power, greed, and individualism to read study and apply the bible to our life. I will not win friends by studying the bible. I’m more apt to wrinkle a few feathers by reading studying and applying the bible to my life and telling others what I find. It will unsettle my life. It will transform my life.

I was told recently that the world needs a new bible that includes Whitman, Blake, Milton, Goethe, Boehme, etc…

No. We don’t need a new bible. We need to seriously read, study, and apply the bible we do have to our lives. Not use the bible to exclude anyone or beat people over the head with it or use it to point fingers at someone else. We need to take the bible serious and let it point a finger at all the places where we are not living up to God’s ideal.

When Luke 6 says “But to you who are listening I say: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you. If someone slaps you on one cheek, turn to them the other also. If someone takes your coat, do not withhold your shirt from them. Give to everyone who asks you, and if anyone takes what belongs to you, do not demand it back.  Do to others as you would have them do to you.”  This is telling the reader to do these things not to force them on others. The spiritually alive understand life is quite miraculous enough and doesn’t need supplementing from the supernatural. It’s true “faith moves mountains” but it is uses a shovel just like the rest of us. When you read the bible let it speak to you, don’t use it to lay burdens on others.

Immanuel Kant said, “I believe that the existence of the Bible is the greatest benefit to the human race. Any attempt to belittle it, I believe, is a crime against humanity.”

Patrick Henry says the bible is “A Book worth More than all the other Books that were ever printed.”

Before you pick up the bible to seriously read and study it ask yourself if you are ready to be changed, to come face to face with God, Jesus, the apostles, prophets, and the kingdom of God. It will not leave you unscathed. It will transform and unsettle you. Life will not be the same. Mine is not.

No preaching brought me to faith in Jesus Christ. No intellectual argument or human effort brought me to faith in Jesus Christ. I am a Christian because of the bible, because God spoke through the bible to me. It was the Gospel of John, John 10:10 to be exact. I wasn’t expecting to say yes to God just because I read a few words. I wasn’t expecting to surrender my wants for the way of Jesus. I wasn’t ready for what that saying yes would entail, what surrendering to Jesus would demand. I am still feeling its ramifications. I continue to read and study the bible and continue to say yes.

Pastor Brux Cavey calls the bible the holy hand grenade. “…the bible, a document designed to blow up religion from the inside out, with the teachings of Jesus functioning as the pin. So, when you pick up a bible, consider that you are holding an explosive device. Between the opening and ending chapters of the bible, a subplot unfolds of how poorly people have responded to the rules and routines of religion. Yet ultimately, every page points toward or reflects back on the coming of Jesus, the one who intends to put an end to religion and to point a way back to the ideal of the garden. That is in brief, why I see the bible as a holy hand grenade, for it invites us into a way of living that makes religion superfluous, exploding its monopoly on God. ”

Every other Thursday I go my church to read, study, discuss, and apply the bible together with a group of men. Thursday night bible study is a time to step out of the world for just a moment and share my faith with other men and listen to their stories. This group has helped me to challenge my false assumptions, confront myself, and drop wrong beliefs. These men have accepted me for who I am and not ounce made me feel like I didn’t belong. They never ask that I believe what they do or how they do. They’ve shown me in a fuller flesh on the gospel way of what it means to follow Jesus today and what saying yes to God really means.

I fully commit myself to reading, studying and applying the bible to my life in a real way. I intend to follow Jesus in a real way. I pray that God will use the bible to guide my life in healthy and loving way and that through me many will be blessed. I want God to use me to proclaim Jesus and the Kingdom of God. I want to learn what it means to be an unapologetic, humble Jesus follower.

5 Comments

  1. This is a very interesting way to look at the way a bible should be read and received. I like the many inputs you have from other scholars and that in its self makes it interesting. I’m passing this on to other people to read and many thanks to you.

    Joe Birdsong

  2. MAJILIO BENEDICTO

    thank you!

  3. MAJILIO BENEDICTO

    i have interested

Trackbacks

  1. Taking The Bible Seriously And Not Literally « Godwrestler

Leave a Reply

