The Audacity of Hope

I have not talked politics on my blog before, but I need to say something.

I knew, with the Presidential election coming next year that politics would need to be addressed.

Today, I was on the train that takes me from school to Barnes & Noble reading and slightly distracted by the gorgeous day. The sky was blue, the sun out not too hot or cold, a slight breeze, a truly fine day. One of those days, you want to go on without end. The sort of day you look forward to in the heat of summer and remember in the iciness of winter. The kind of day that makes you fall in love with the world or another person or even just want to love someone, something. The kind of day to strengthen you for the dark days of winter that lay ahead of and to remind you that the world really is a friendly place and you are safe, a day so gentle you forget your woes. Not the kind of day to hear what I did.

Sitting on the other side of the aisle was an old guy (balding, white shirt, work pants, long beard) and a stylish red head 40ish lady. A mismatch in anyone’s book. The old guy was hitting on the lady. The lady was humoring the old guy. Nothing wrong so far, just another ride on the train into the city. I was not trying to eavesdrop on them, but I couldn’t help overhearing some of their conversation. First, it was music and Johnny Cash, and then onto books and which novels she liked, she mentioned a female novelist and he abruptly said he didn’t like any female writers. Then, politics and President Obama was the topic and that’s when the old guy said what would quietly haunt me all day yesterday.

Not sure if I really should repeat what he said, but I won’t keep you in suspense any longer.

He said, “I wished that brown-eye (expletive) would be crucified.”

Yes. He said those words loudly on a full train car. The lady reacted physically, as if someone had slapped her. She said, “Oh my, no.”

The train stopped. It was my stop. I got off. I don’t where the conversation went from there or what become of them, but those words from the old man rattled around in my mind for the rest of the day. Not even the beautiful book lined, air-conditioned bookstore could keep those words long at bay. I read. I browsed. Those words echoed in my head, as if they were some chant a crowd were voicing.

I am always shocked at the hatred people have for others.

I don’t like some people, but I don’t hate them or wish them harm or voice it as blatantly this man did. Yes, I did write a blog on Warren Jeffs voicing  my distaste for this man, what he stands for and what he did, but I was in the midst of struggling with what he did and his claims. I was troubled by my strong feelings and wasn’t OK that I felt the way I did. I regret posting that, I don’t apologize for my feelings, but I can honestly say I wouldn’t harm him. I will leave his punishment in the hands of God. 2 Thessalonians 1 says, “He will punish those who do not know God and do not obey the gospel of our Lord Jesus.  They will be punished with everlasting destruction and shut out from the presence of the Lord.” It’s not my job to judge or punish, my job is to follow Jesus and help others to do the same. I am to be a disciple and to make disciples. That’s it; the rest is in God’s hands.

Now, back to what the old guy said.

Can we just say what this guy said are the ravings of a demented person. Yes and no. He could be off his rocker or upset, but no, there are too many other people saying the same thing. It began the moment Obama started his election bid four years ago. First, they said he was Muslim. Now, there is nothing wrong with that if it were true. It’s not. Obama is a Christian. Then, he was blamed for what and how his pastor preached. I attend on a regular basis a Presbyterian church and I have absolutely no say in what my pastors preach on. I don’t always like or agree with everything that’s said, but I try to get something out of it each week.  If you constantly disagree and don’t get anything out of it, then change churches, but never kid yourself you will never have a say in what the pastor preaches. Unless or until you become a pastor yourself, all you can do is stay and listen or leave. That’s your only options. None of us can say from a few sound bites that Obama’s pastors’ sermons were inflammatory. I can say that sometimes preachers will preach in a way to get people off their butts. Obama should not be held accountable for his pastors’ actions. Obama did leave the church. I think Obama’s speech on religion were some of the best words on the subject I’ve heard before and since on the subject.

Then, it was Obama is not a citizen and this sham went on into Obama’s presidency. He showed them the short form. He showed them the long form. They shut up.

Now, they are trying to sabotage him by blocking anything he puts forward and blaming him for the blunders of the past president, which he has been trying to fix.

In the heated political climate we are now in it would not be surprising if some wacko tired to kill our president. It’s happened twice before in our history. It wouldn’t be shocking if it happened again, very sad but not a shocker. Something I hope doesn’t happen. I dread to see what would happen to our country without Obama.

In my opinion, this is just what I think; Barrack Obama is the best man for the job of President of the United States. I will be voting for him again. I pray that he will be reelected. I think that will be the best thing for our country.

I say if you have nothing nice to say or constructive to add to the mess our country is in shut up and follow our president. I say you in Congress, who are trying to stop Obama, grow up and act like adults. I have been out of work for almost two years. I just want a job and steady income. So, those of you (and you know who you are) blocking Obama’s attempts to create jobs get out of the way or roll up your sleeves and get to work or you just might be the one’s out of a job come election day. I for one am sick and tired of it. I am sick and tired of all the rhetoric and politics as usual; it’s past time that America stand strong and united as one. Our nation is so much better than all this crap. It’s time we show the world that America can act like adults and help its citizens out the mess the rich fat cats caused. America is so much better than all this.

2 Comments

  1. Brenda Blackwelder

    This is a beautiful account of a horrible experience. I wish everybody had the same understanding that you do…The hatred is opposite of what makes life worthwhile. Thank GOD for people who love instead of hate. Thank you.

  2. tina

    inspirational

Leave a Reply

