I Am Not A Heretic Or Am I?

Last year, I was discussing my faith struggles with someone online when this person said, “You’re a heretic.”

Recently, in response to my post ‘Why Am I A Christian’ someone commented, “You’re hateful and disrespectful.”

Since I started posting my thoughts and struggles about faith and life online people have voiced appreciation.  

Called a heretic hurt me. It ended that conversation and as much as I would’ve liked to continue it, there was no way of getting past that cruel accusation. I haven’t talked with this person. I don’t blame or ever had any hostility for them, but I don’t think anything I said was earning that treatment. I’d told this person that I didn’t read the book of Genesis, especially the first 11 chapters literally, but I do take them seriously. I think the entire bible, both books, cover to cover is vital, beautiful, and authorative to faith in Jesus Christ. I have problems with some of the things I find in the bible, things I need to wrestle with that will force me to confront my own assumption and grow my faith. I enjoy studying and talking about the bible. I think it’s imperative to read study and take seriously the bible.

My associate pastor laughed off me as a heretic. He has helped me, answered my questions and pushed me to be a better Christian.  Not a perfect question, but better, I don’t think I or anyone else will be perfect.  

In ‘Why Am I A Christian’, I share my story of how I became a Christian and why I need a savior. Was it really hateful and disrespectful sharing my story on my blog? I wasn’t passing judgment on anyone or saying that my way was the only way, or that I am sole possessor of all truth that whoever doesn’t agree with me is wrong. Saying that the way I came to faith in Jesus Christ is the only would be a form of idolatry and stupidity.  I was just telling my story in my words. I was not pointing fingers at anyone. I was merely saying this is what I believe and this is how I came to it and this is where I am on my faith journey.

I know my blog is not for everyone. I don’t mean to injure anyone’s faith or pass any sort of judgment on anyone. I merely wish to write about my faith, struggles, and journey. I want to converse with those who are open to it and for those who don’t want to I will leave them to be. I will not apologize for what I believe, what I write, how I see the Christian journey. You are welcome to disagree with me. If you don’t want to read it then click off to another site. There are plenty of blogs online. I am sure you will find one that suits your taste.

I am an unapologetic, sincere Jesus follower.

I don’t believe or follow a religion. I follow Jesus.

I know that no religion, not even the Christian religion or any church, not even my chosen church Presbyterian will ever save anyone. If any religion or church claims it is the one and only that it will save you, then it’s a lie. Even if that church calls itself Christian. No church or religion has ever or will ever save anyone. I do know and affirm that Jesus is Lord and Savior of all.

You may wonder if I believe that why I go to church. I go to church, because I have found that a loving community is the best place for me to learn, grow and serve. I attend a Presbyterian church, because it’s there that I have learned more fully who Jesus is and how to follow him. It is there that I feel I belong and can love and serve others. I am glad to be part of such a community and hope everyone can and will find such a place, but it’s good to realize that religion and church will never save anyone. At best, it’s a vehicle to the love and grace of God found only in Jesus Christ.

This blog will operate as a pipe bomb for some.

For others and my intention is that it will help them on their own faith journey.

In Mark 1, Jesus said come follow me.

In Mark 10, Jesus said for even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give his life as a ransom for many.

In John 11, Jesus said I am the resurrection and the life. The one who believes in me will live, even though they die; and whoever lives by believing in me will never die.

In John 14, Jesus said I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you really know me, you will know my Father as well. From now on, you do know him and have seen him.

In 1 John 3 says Do not be surprised, my brothers and sisters, if the world hates you. We know that we have passed from death to life, because we love each other. Anyone who does not love remains in death. Anyone who hates a brother or sister is a murderer, and you know that no murderer has eternal life residing in him. This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers and sisters. If anyone has material possessions and sees a brother or sister in need but has no pity on them, how can the love of God be in that person? Let us not love with words or speech but with actions and in truth.

If the world of men and things calls me a heretic, then so be it.

If the world of men and things calls me intolerant, disrespectful, and hateful then so be it.

I would rather be called heretic or hateful and follow Jesus as best as I can then be a part of any religion or group.

When I die and am laid in the ground, I want a simple wooden cross to mark my grave. My life is not my own. It has been paid for with the blood of Jesus Christ. I am not and I pray that I will never be too proud to say that I need a savior and He is Jesus Christ.  

What is more, I consider everything a loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whose sake I have lost all things. I consider them garbage, that I may gain Christ Philippians 3:8

Leave a Reply

